Farid Belkahia's biography

Farid Belkahia was born in 1934 in Marrakech.

He graduated from the Fine Art School of Paris in 1959. He then learned the art of scenography at the theatre Institut of Prague from 1959 to 1962. In 1965-66, he improved his learning in the Brera Academy of Milan.

After he returned to Casablanca, he was headmaster of the Fine Arts School of Casablanca from 1962 to 1974.

After a long period of expressionist painting, he has oriented his art to geometrical schemes and has diversified the supports of his paintings. From 1962 to 1974, he had a long period were he worked on copper; then, he interested in the dye on skin technique, using natural pigments such as, henna and pomegranate pee.

Emblematic figure of contemporary art in Morocco, Farid Belkahia led a fundamental artistic experience on the new ways to modernity. He was able to revisit Moroccan heritage and crafts by impart it a contemporary and artistic touch. His tainting on skin works symbolize the union between traditional media and modern shapes. “Every change, every modernity goes through tradition”, underlined the painter.

His works can be found, among others, in the collection of the Arab World Institute in Paris, the Georges Pompidou Center in Paris, the National Found of Contemporary Art (France), the Mathaf Museum (Qatar) and the ONA Foundation (Morocco).

Farid Belkahia died in 2014.

Back to Farid Belkahia

Biographie de Farid Belkahia

Farid Belkahia est né le 15 novembre 1934 à Marrakech.

Il a fait ses études à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris de 1955 à 1959. Il a ensuite été formé, de 1959 à 1962, à l’art de la scénographie dans l’institut de théâtre de Prague. En 1965-66, il perfectionne son apprentissage à l’Académie Brera de Milan.

De retour au Maroc, Farid Belkahia a occupé le poste de directeur de l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Casablanca de 1962 à 1974.

Après une période de peinture expressionniste, Farid Belkahia a orienté son art vers des schémas plus géométriques et a diversifié les supports de sa peinture. Après une longue période de cuivre de 1962 à 1974, il s’est intéressé à la peau teintée avec des pigments naturels, tels que le henné ou l’écorce de grenade, entre autres.

Figure emblématique de l’art contemporain au Maroc, Farid Belkahia a mené une expérience artistique fondamentale et un travail de réflexion approfondi sur les nouvelles voies d’accès à la modernité. Il a su revisiter le patrimoine marocain et son artisanat en lui conférant une touche contemporaine et artistique qui lui a redonné un souffle nouveau. Ses œuvres sur peau sont le lieu d’une conjonction entre un support traditionnel et des formes modernes. « Tout renouvellement, toute modernité passe par la tradition », souligne le peintre.

Les œuvres de Farid Belkahia ont intégré de prestigieuses collections dont l’Institut du Monde Arabe (France), le Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain du Centre Georges-Pompidou (France), le Fonds National d’Art Contemporain (France), le Musée Mathaf (Qatar) et la Fondation ONA (Maroc).

Farid Belkahia est décédé en 2014.

 

Retour à Farid Belkahia